>The Wall

>At one point in my life, I did not have strong feelings about the proposed wall between the U.S. and Mexico. I cared more about having just laws for immigrants than about the wall.

However, at the end of 2006 I became convinced that the wall was a bad idea. It has taken me over 5 months to get around to voicing this publicly. My apologies.

I think the wall is a bad idea because:

  1. It would cost (waste) a lot of money–an estimated $49 billion (SF Gate).
  2. It is a PR debacle.
  3. I believe it wouldn’t stop illegal immigration anyway. People would find a way through regardless of the expense.
  4. It would divide the lands of three Native American nations (New America Media).
Leave a Reply

