|Reading Plan, 2017 Edition

NOTE: see update below. 

Three truths: I like to learn. I have a lot of books. I’m not big on reading.

Last year I made a plan to read a book a month. I didn’t come anywhere close. I guess Tim Ferriss wouldn’t be surprised since I had neither a carrot nor a stick.

This year I’m going public with my list. Again it’s one-a-month plus 3 for Sabbath.

Carrot: I can get on Instagram in the evening after I’ve read either 20 pages or 1 chapter.

Stick: If I don’t finish the month’s book, I have to give Victor my $10 allowance for the month.

The main theme is conflict resolution/transformation and reconciliation. The secondary theme is general Christian social ethics. I read a number of these (or major parts of them) in grad school, but I’ve been wanting to revisit them.

So here’s the plan:

  1. Jan) The Peacemaker – Sande
  2. Feb) The Eight Essential Steps to Conflict Resolution – Weeks
  3. Mar) Deep Economy – McKibben
  4. Apr) Journey Toward Reconciliation – Lederach [or updated Reconcile]
  5. May) Christian Anarchism – Christoyannopoulos
  6. June) Making Conflict Work – Coleman & Ferguson
  7. July) Entrusted: Christians and Environmental Care* – Dunbar, Rasi & Gibson
  8. Aug) Reconciling All Things – Katongole & Rice
  9. Sept) Pursuing Justice – Wytsma
  10. Oct) Making Peace with Conflict – Schrock-Shenk & Ressler
  11. Nov) Six Theories of Justice – Lebacqz
  12. Dec) Strategies of Peace – Philpott & Powers; OR Reaching for Higher Ground in Conflict Resolution – Dukes, Piscolish & Stephens

Sabbath Reading (beyond the main reading plan)

Maybe I’ll write a blog post for each book. We’ll see. 😉

UPDATE: After 7 months, I admitted I had failed. 🙂 I had read only 1 book in its entirety, and it had taken 2 months. So I scrapped the plan, and I’m now trying this: Reading for 30 minutes earns me 15 minutes of Internet time. 2:1. That time is for blogs, social media, news, sports, etc. So far this month I’m still not reading, but I am getting a lot done since I’m not wasting time online. 🙂

*Seventh-day Adventist authors

FOLLOW UP:

I’m only 75 pages into the 2017 reading plan, and I’m already thinking ahead to next year’s  (2018) theme. I’m thinking about church-based social action and activism, with a secondary theme of intercultural/international conflict transformation.

  1. Churches That Make a Difference (Sider, Olson & Unruh)
  2. The Externally Focused Church (Rusaw & Swanson)
  3. A Culture of Peace: God’s Vision for the Church (Kreider, Kreider & Widjaja)
  4. Peace Ministry (Buttry)
  5. The Just Church (Martin)
  6. Faith-Rooted Organizing (Salvatierra & Heltzel)
  7. Doing Justice: Congregations and Community Organizing (Jacobsen)
  8. Shalom Church (Nessan)
  9. Conflict Mediation across Cultures (Augsburger)
  10. Preparing for Peace: Conflict Transformation across Cultures (Lederach)
  11. Conflict across Cultures (LeBaron & Pillay)
  12. Managing Intercultural Conflict Effectively (Ting-Toomey & Oetzel)

Then 2019 could focus on human rights with a secondary theme of globalization:

  1. Crowned with Glory and Honor: Human Rights in the Biblical Tradition (Marshall)
  2. Faith and Human Rights (Amesbury & Newlands)
  3. Christian Human Rights (Moyn)
  4. In Our Own Best Interest (Schulz)
  5. Universal Human Rights in Theory and Practice (Donnelly)
  6. International Human Rights (Alston & Goodman)
  7. The Human Rights Reader (Ishay)
  8. The History of Human Rights (Ishay)
  9. Philosophy of Human Rights: Readings in Context (Hayden)
  10. Global Neighbors (Hicks & Valeri)
  11. Justice in a Global Economy (Brubaker, Peters, & Stivers)
  12. The Fullness of Time in a Flat World (Waalkes)
  13. Globalization and Its Discontents (Stiglitz)

And 2020 could be on nonviolence….

Leave a Reply

